Yolocaust by Shahak Shapira

The back story on this link I’m sharing: Some dude noticed photos ppl were taking at a Holocaust museum. He found them quite disrespectful so he used his crazy mad photoshop skills to change the pictures a bit. 


The boredpanda link no longer works. Click here to see the artist’s work on upshout.

So,I’m asking myself, “Is it tasteless of me to even share this?”
I feel like giving attention to undesirable behavior sort of encourages it. Like in Signs when Graham says to to the corn field, “You’re not going to get famous!”

However, I have decided that I’m going to share this with my kids. (The five I still have home.) 

They are aware of the Holocaust but I have never shoved the brutal photos and experiences down their throats. I believe we read Anne’s diary together five years ago, and I think that’s a good level of exposure for younger children. I did a pretty deep study of the Holocaust myself as an adult, and I feel like if my children ever want to, the material is there for the taking. 

Anyhow, my point here in this post is not really the Holocaust. It’s about the importance, and it’s a very grave importance, of respect for life even in death. (No pun intended.) 

First world citizens don’t really suffer. My children have suffered the back breaking work of building and construction. They’ve suffered through having to eat the stuff that’s been in the pantry for two years because dad’s paycheck didn’t stretch far enough, but really our lives are pretty dang good. 

So how do I get my children to understand that there is real suffering in the world? How do I get my children to understand that there are ppl in the world who suffer at the hands of other ppl for some cause or belief to which they adhere? 

By using movies, articles, social media, visits to memorials, etc. 

And a second reason for sharing this with my kids, who are ages 10-16, is to make certain they understand how I feel about having reverence for situations that deserve it. 

If any of my kids take a trip to this or any Holocaust museum, I will have taken the time to show them how others have behaved in those memorials, and how I feel about it. 

Maybe my kid will choose to ignore the promptings he feels to show proper reverence, I probably won’t be there to intervene, but the decision to do so will rest on his shoulders. The flack he gets from ppl who will criticize him will be his to bear. He will not forget that his mom taught him that we show respect for life even in death. 

Sharing this person’s project is just one teaching moment on having reverence as respect. 

Before we took them to Pearl Harbor, we watched and discussed what went on there. And while there, my pride swelled as I watched my youngsters explore the memorial with great respect and posing thoughtful comments. Going on the Martin’s Cove trek was another experience that afforded us the opportunity to respect life in death. There is no shortage. We even have contemporary tragedies like the World Trade Towers, or the refugees having to flee for their very safety. Even showing respect to a passing funeral procession is a lost cultural norm.

As I see other humans behave disrespectfully, I always wonder if they don’t know any better because no one ever took the time to encourage them to explore feelings of reverence and respect.

If we parents don’t assume the responsibility of helping our own children to recognize poor human behavior, who will? The ppl who make their pointless comments under the photos? 

Leave a Reply

